Class Notes

Tracey Nieckarz appointed Superior Court judge

Tracey Nieckarz (BA'89/HBA'90), a partner at the law firm Buset LLP, has been named a judge of the Superior Court of Justice in Thunder Bay.  Her appointment was announced by Justice Minister Jody Wilson-Raybould.  Justice Nieckarz replaces Madam Justice H.M. Pierce, who... more

Thunder Bay artist wins 2018 K.M. Hunter Artist Award

Thunder Bay artist Cree Stevens (BABEd '97, BFA '15) has won the 2018 K.M. Hunter Artist Award for Visual Arts.The annual award is given to six Ontario, mid-career, professional artists in various art disciplines. The winners this year are Christine Friday, Ottawa (Dance); Matthew Heiti, Sudbury (... more

Change in Leadership at the North West LHIN

The North West Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) announced on April 19th, the appointment of the new CEO for the North West LHIN, Dr. Rhonda Crocker Ellacott (HBScN '91)“The Board of Directors wishes to acknowledge the high caliber of skills and abilities that Rhonda brings to this... more

Alumna Receives Government of Canada History Award

The Departments of Interdisciplinary Studies and History and the Faculty of Education are pleased to announce that alumna Kylie Burchat (HBASc/BEd '17) has been recognized as one of 20 Government of Canada History Award winners for 2017.   The goal of the Government of Canada History... more

Billboard Power 100: Live Nation Entertainment's Michael Rapino

MICHAEL RAPINO, 52  CEO, Live Nation Entertainment (Last Year's Rank: 3)Michael Rapino (BAdmin '89) likes to hold court in a corner seat of Live Nation's new employee lounge and bar, a space stocked with high-end tequila and craft beer that feels more like a miniature House of Blues than the... more

AGAT Laboratories appoints new President and Chief Operating Officer

Marissa Reckmann has been appointed to the position of President and Chief Operating Officer at AGAT Laboratories.  In her new role, Marissa is focussed on ensuring the preservation of the AGAT Laboratories culture and values, including company philosophies, mission statements and loyalty to... more

Wilson Institute announces their Associates for 2017-2020

On Thursday, November 30th, the Wilson Institute unveiled their list of the 37 scholars named as Wilson Associates for 2017-2020. Located in every province of Canada, the Wilson Associates have been selected as scholars who are pushing the field of Canadian history in exciting new... more

Karl Subban shares his plan for success in a new book

 How We Did It: The Subban Plan for Success in Hockey, School and Life is a memoir of how Karl Subban (BA '83, BEd '84) and his wife Maria prepared their five children to live up to   their potential. The two girls became teachers. The three boys were... more

Lakehead teacher Lisa Dampier wins ETFO Anti-Bias Award

The Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO) has presented Lakehead teacher Lisa Dampier (BA '92, B.Ed. '93) with its 2017 Anti-Bias Award for her work in teaching global citizenship and social justice to grades 7 and 8 students.The award is presented to an ETFO member or group of... more

Former lecturer and alum recognized by peak teacher education body

Former ORPT lecturer and Lakehead alum, Dr. Janet Dyment (PhD '05) is Australia's Teacher Educator of the Year, as awarded by the Australian Teacher Education Association (ATEA) at a conference in Brisbane in July.The "judges were struck by Janet's fantastic work in online teacher education," said... more


We would like to hear from your - submit your own class note.