Class Notes

Board Announces Incoming President of Confederation College

Chairperson George Patterson announced that Kathleen Lynch (HBSW '83) as the successful candidate as incoming President of Confederation College. Lynch will succeed outgoing President Jim Madder, assuming official duties on September 4, 2018.  “We are very pleased... more

New Vice-Provost Students & Registrar at Lakehead University.

Andrea Tarsitano (HBComm '01) has permanently taken on the role of Vice-Provost Students & Registrar at Lakehead University.  Having served as the Acting Vice-Provost (Student Affairs), alongside her existing role as Associate Vice-Provost Enrolment & Registrar, the transition to... more

Ledcor Names Don Quan as President, Resources and Transportation

The Ledcor Group of Companies, a leading Canadian diversified construction and industrial operations company, today announced the appointment of Don Quan as President, Ledcor Resources and Transportation.  “On behalf of the Board, I am pleased to announce that Don Quan has been appointed as... more

Appointment of Sue Craig as Vice-President of Community & Environment

Kutcho Copper Corporation is pleased to announce the appointment of Sue Craig (MSc. 1991) as Vice President of Community & Environment. As a highly-respected professional geoscientist, Ms. Craig has worked in British Columbia and Yukon for over 25 years on projects from the... more

Fleming College Appoints Maureen Adamson as President

The Fleming College Board of Governors is pleased to announce that Maureen Adamson has been selected as the college’s sixth president.This appointment marks several firsts for the college. Maureen is the first Fleming alumni to lead the college, as well as the first female and the first person... more

Tracey Nieckarz appointed Superior Court judge

Tracey Nieckarz (BA'89/HBA'90), a partner at the law firm Buset LLP, has been named a judge of the Superior Court of Justice in Thunder Bay.  Her appointment was announced by Justice Minister Jody Wilson-Raybould.  Justice Nieckarz replaces Madam Justice H.M. Pierce, who... more

Thunder Bay artist wins 2018 K.M. Hunter Artist Award

Thunder Bay artist Cree Stevens (BABEd '97, BFA '15) has won the 2018 K.M. Hunter Artist Award for Visual Arts.The annual award is given to six Ontario, mid-career, professional artists in various art disciplines. The winners this year are Christine Friday, Ottawa (Dance); Matthew Heiti, Sudbury (... more

Change in Leadership at the North West LHIN

The North West Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) announced on April 19th, the appointment of the new CEO for the North West LHIN, Dr. Rhonda Crocker Ellacott (HBScN '91)“The Board of Directors wishes to acknowledge the high caliber of skills and abilities that Rhonda brings to this... more

Alumna Receives Government of Canada History Award

The Departments of Interdisciplinary Studies and History and the Faculty of Education are pleased to announce that alumna Kylie Burchat (HBASc/BEd '17) has been recognized as one of 20 Government of Canada History Award winners for 2017.   The goal of the Government of Canada History... more

Billboard Power 100: Live Nation Entertainment's Michael Rapino

MICHAEL RAPINO, 52  CEO, Live Nation Entertainment (Last Year's Rank: 3)Michael Rapino (BAdmin '89) likes to hold court in a corner seat of Live Nation's new employee lounge and bar, a space stocked with high-end tequila and craft beer that feels more like a miniature House of Blues than the... more


We would like to hear from your - submit your own class note.