Alumni Awards




The Alumni Association of Lakehead University has been honoring distinguished alumni since 1988 when the first Alumni Honour Award was given. The Outstanding Young Alumni Award was added in 2004.  Nominations are now open and forms are available below.  Deadline for submissions is April 30th, 2019.




The Outstanding Young Alumni Award is presented annually in recognition of a Lakehead University graduate, 40 years of age or younger, who has achieved
significant accomplishments since graduation, either in his/her profession, sport or community service.

Guidelines & Nomination Form

Online Fillable Form




The Alumni Honour Award is presented by the Alumni Association to general members, who have demonstrated distinction or outstanding achievement in one of the following areas: public service; business; humanities; research; science and technology; scholarship; the arts; or, for outstanding personal service rendered to the University over a period of years.

Guidelines & Nomination Form

Online Fillable Form




This award, given at the discretion of the Alumni Association Board of Directors, recognizes a volunteer alumni leader who has retired from active service.  The recipient of the Alumni Legacy Award has helped contribute to and/or has furthered the purpose and the mission of the Alumni Association over a period of ten or more years.

The recipient of this award has demonstrated exceptional commitment and contributions to the Alumni Association and the University, exemplifying the highest standards of personal and professional integrity, civic responsibility, vision and leadership.  This award identifies the recipient as a valued member of the alumni community.



The Alumni Association of Lakehead University Entrance Award provides $2,500 per year for four years (total of $10,000) to the successful applicant. Eligible applicants

-be an immediate family member of a Lakehead University Alumnus/a
-have sound academic credentials
-demonstrate strong leadership qualities and community involvement
-plan to attend Lakehead University the following academic year on a full-time basis

Conditions of the Award 
Application Form
Online Fillable Form



2017 Alumni Award Winners (Pictured from l. to r.: Cam Clark, David Heroux, Cathy Trojan, Ken Boshcoff, Darren Lentz, and Dr. Michel Beaulieu, President of the Alumni Association of Lakehead University.)